This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.

NASAO’s committee structure is aligned with the association’s strategic goals:

  1. Investment – Ensure public investment sufficient to provide safe and efficient access to the national aviation system for all Americans.
  2. Technology – Support the efficient use of emerging technologies to improve the national aviation system’s capacity and provide access to more communities across the nation.
  3. Communication – Promote information exchange, emphasizing public awareness, understanding and education regarding the importance of the national aviation system to the health, economic development and quality of life for our communities.

The committees also provide members a forum to address issues such as funding airport improvements and NextGen, land use, security, safety, operations, certification, federal and international affairs, communications and public relations. Each committee is chaired by a NASAO member and is populated with NASAO members or state aviation agency subject experts. To join a committee please sign in and navigate to Groups.  You can 'request to join' a group by selecting a group and following the prompts.



Description Forthcoming

Chair: TBD


The NASAO Block Grant Task Group promotes the voluntary expansion of the state block grant program, works towards increased flexibility in state administration of the program, acts as a forum for resolving common state issues, and serves as a resource to share with existing block grant states and to educate new states entering the state block grant program. The committee works under a Memorandum of Understanding with the Federal Aviation Administration.

Chair: Mike Trout, Director, Office of Aeronautics, Michigan Department of Transportation


Description Forthcoming

Chair: Mike Pape, NASAO Secretary | Administrator, Division of Aeronautics, Idaho Division of Aeronautics


Description Forthcoming

Chair: Bobby Walston, NASAO Treasurer | Aviation Director, Division of Aviation, North Carolina Department of Transportation


The NASAO Legislative Affairs Committee is responsible for the drafting and implementing the legislative activities of the organization. Annually, the committee recommends a legislative agenda to the NASAO Executive Committee that represents the needs of the states and the public interest in the national aviation system. Learn more about NASAO’s legislative agenda.

Co-chair: John C. Eagerton, IV, D.P.A., Bureau Chief, Alabama Department of Transportation Aeronautics Bureau
Co-chair: Victor N. Bird, Director, Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission 


In 2006 NASAO signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) to coordinate the efforts of the two associations on aviation policy matters. The NASAO/AASHTO Standing Committee on Aviation reviews aviation policy and makes recommendations to both AASHTO's and NASAO’s Board of Directors. The committee also identifies and reports on federal regulatory mandates of national concern and operates as a forum to exchange information regarding aviation issues. The committee is made up of a Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary as well as four members from each AASHTO region (two of which are proposed by NASAO). Members are appointed by the AASHTO President to four-year terms. Reappointment is possible at the discretion of the ASSHTO President.

Chair: John C. Eagerton, IV, Bureau Chief, Aeronautics Bureau, Alabama Department of Transportation 


Description Forthcoming

Chair:  David Greene, Director, Wisconsin Bureau of Aeronautics


Description Forthcoming

Chair: Brad Brandt, NASAO Immediate Past Chairman | Aviation Director, Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development


FAA and NASAO will explore methods of working collaboratively to provide information on current and proposed UAS rules and authorization of UAS operations, enhance infromation sharing and increase awareness of UAS activities within the states.

Chair: James Stephens, NASAO Regional Director - Southern Region | Executive Director, South Carolina Aeronautics Commission