This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
National Award of Excellence

In 1997, NASAO established its National Award of Excellence in Aviation. It is an effort to recognize and reward individuals or groups who have contributed to the mission of NASAO by demonstrating outstanding leadership and initiative and whose contributions have significantly enhanced the field of aviation. This is the highest honor that NASAO can confer to a non-NASAO member.


Any nationally recognized individual or group not employed by the states or NASAO.

Each state and the NASAO Washington office are eligible to nominate a candidate for the honor. Also, members of the general public are encouraged to suggest potential nominees to their state aviation director. However, either a state aviation director or the Washington office must make the actual nomination.

All state directors are encouraged to submit nominations.

Previous nominees may be re-nominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • Outline the accomplishments of the nominee in not more than two (2) typewritten pages.


A selection committee made up of the NASAO Executive Committee and NASAO President will review all submissions by state aviation directors and select the award recipient. Please note that only one individual or a single cohesive group (such as an association or company) will receive the award in a calendar year. Although nominations shall be solicited each year, the award will not necessarily be conferred annually.


  • 2010 Jack Pelton, Cessna Aircraft Company, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • 2000 FAA Administrator Jane Garvey
  • 1999 Rep. Bud Shuster (R-Pennsylvania)
  • 1998 Rep. James Oberstar (D-Minnesota)
  • 1997 Paul H. Poberezny


Each state may submit only one entry. all entries must be submitted by Friday, July 20, 2018.


Please send the electronic nomination to: Tracy MacDonald. Tracy is also available to answer questions at 703-610-1274.