This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
National Journalism Award

During the 1997 EAA Oshkosh Convention, the National Association of State Aviation Officials Board of Directors announced the creation of its NASAO National Journalism Award. The award is designed to recognize superior news coverage of aviation issues by both the mass media and the aviation trade press. The first NASAO National Journalism Award was presented on September 9, 1997 at NASAO’s 66th Annual Meeting in Tulsa, Oklahoma. An impeccably high standard was set by granting the inaugural award to Gordon Baxter, longtime columnist for Flying magazine. The recipient will receive the award at the NASAO Annual Convention & Trade Show.


The NASAO National Journalism Award is open to an individual writer, editor, or producer or entire news organization such as a magazine, newspaper, radio, or television news program/network. Nominations must be made by a state aviation director or the NASAO Washington staff.

Previous nominees may be renominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee or news organization and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • An Executive Summary prepared by the person making the nomination describing the nominee’s contribution that qualifies the individual or organization for consideration.
  • Supporting documents, not to exceed 5 pages, double-spaced. Back-up material such as newspaper columns or film clips are welcomed and encouraged.


The NASAO Executive Committee shall act as the judges. Judges will be asked to rank each nominee and to consider the degree to which they have contributed to strengthening the understanding of the general public to the importance that aviation plays in our lives.


  • 2016 Paul Bowers, Airport Improvement Magazine
  • 2012 , Penny Rafferty Hamilton, Ph.D., Journalist and Aviation Contributor
  • 2011 Kim Stevens, Publisher, State Aviation Journal 
  • 2010 David and Peggy Weiman, publisher, Midwest Flyer Magazine
  • 1997 Gordon Baxter, columnist, Flying magazine


Each state may submit only one entry. All entries must be received by Monday, July 20, 2020.


Please send the electronic nomination to:

Business Partners