This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
State Aviation Distinguished Service Award

In 1989, the Board of Directors of the National Association of State Aviation Officials established the State Aviation Distinguished Service Award to honor State Aviation personnel who have excelled in their service and dedication to aviation progress and development in their state. Recognizing that the vitality and effectiveness of a state aviation agency directly reflects the quality of agency personnel, NASAO resolved to identify and honor a staff member that has performed in an exemplary manner and whose contributions will serve as an inspiration to other state aviation agency personnel. The recipient will receive the award at the NASAO Annual Convention & Trade Show.


The State Aviation Distinguished Service Award is open to any employee of a state aviation agency, excluding the director or acting director. Nominees must have been employed by the state aviation agency during 2020.

Previous nominees may be renominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • An Executive Summary prepared by the person making the nomination describing the nominee’s contribution that qualifies the individual for consideration.
  • A current résumé of the individual.
  • Supporting documents, not to exceed 5 pages, double-spaced. Please do not send videos, books, etc.


The NASAO Executive Board shall serve as the judges. Judges will be asked to rank each nominee and to consider the degree to which they: (1) have made an extraordinary contribution to the aviation community through their superior service to their state agency program; or (2) have made an outstanding contribution on either a sustained basis or through performance of a single exceptional deed or project; and/or (3) have made a contribution within their area of responsibility which can be readily adapted by other state aviation personnel to improve the quality and effectiveness of state aviation services.


  • 2020 Grayson Ardies (Oklahoma)
  • 2019 Shahn Sederberg (Colorado)
  • 2018 Cliff Burnette (Virginia)
  • 2017 Andre Aman (Nebraska)
  • 2016 Roger Maggard (Alaska)
  • 2015 Malinda Weninger (North Dakota)
  • 2013 Carol L. Aldrich, PE (Michigan)
  • 2012 Frank Farmer (Alabama)
  • 2011 Mark Noel PE (Michigan)
  • 2010 Dale Williams (Oklahoma)
  • 2009 Cynthia Kever (Missouri) and Karon Wiedemann (Texas)
  • 2008 Scott Brummond (Wisconsin)
  • 2007 Mark Young (Idaho)
  • 2006 Daniel McDowell (Minnesota)
  • 2003 Kurt Haukohl (California)
  • 2002 Terrance L. Schaddel (Illinois)
  • 2001 Duane A. Haukebo (Minnesota) and James L. Bland (Virginia)
  • 2000 Bruce F. Mundie (Maryland)
  • 1999 Paul Kramer (Illinois)
  • 1998 Gordon Hoff (Minnesota)
  • 1997 Roger L. Pfeiffer (North Dakota)
  • 1996 A. Dean Gretschmann (South Dakota)
  • 1995 James L. Bildilli (Illinois)
  • 1994 Janice Draper (Illinois)
  • 1993 Duane E. Esse (Wisconsin)
  • 1992 Kenton R. Hoeper (Minnesota)
  • 1991 Roger H. Barcus (Illinois)
  • 1990 Steven R. McNeely (Virginia)


Each state may submit only one entry. All entries must be received by Monday, July 20, 2020.


Please send the electronic nomination to:

Business Partners